2021 Awards Recipients

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the annual awards for 2020-2021. Congratulations to all award winners. All recipients must attend the annual meeting to receive the awards.


1. The Financial News-KAFA Eminent Scholar Award

Selection Criteria: The FN-KAFA Eminent Scholar Award is given to a KAFA member who has achieved outstanding scholarly accomplishment and research contribution in leading journals in finance and related fields.

Winner: Professor Moon H. Song, San Diego State University


2. The D.K. Kim Distinguished Scholar Award

Selection Criteria: The recipient of the D.K. Kim Distinguished Scholar Award should be a KAFA life-time member who has made outstanding scholarly achievements in the finance and related fields, and at the same time has substantially contributed to or has a potential for significant contribution to the growth of KAFA.

Winner: Professor Jun-Koo Kang, Nanyang Technological University


3. The Shinhan Bank-KAFA Young Scholar Award

Selection Criteria: The SHB-KAFA Young Scholar Award is given to a KAFA member who has demonstrated exemplary scholarly performance through publications in leading journals in finance and related fields. Those KAFA members who earned his or her Ph.D. degree within seven years prior to the award date would be considered for the award.

Winner: Professor Jong-Min Oh, Sungkyunkwan University


4. The Financial News & KAFA Top-Journal Paper Award

Winner: Professors Ji Yeol Jimmy Oh, Hanyang University and Jaewon Choi, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, “Sitting Bucks: Stale Pricing in Fixed Income Funds,” (co- authored with Mathias Kronlund), 2021, Journal of Financial Economics, forthcoming.


5. The Shinhan Bank & KAFA Best Paper Award:

Winner: Professor Jung Chul Park, University of South Florida, “Women in Top Management and Agency Costs,” (co-authored with Anthony F. Jurkus and Lorraine S. Woodard), 2011, Journal of Business Research 64, 180-186.


6. Bong-Soo Lee Memorial Scholarship

Winner: Jinoug Jeung, Emory University


7. The Financial News & KAFA Doctoral Student Dissertation Awards:

Winner: Pil-Seng Lee, University of Texas at Dallas, “How Does Hedge Fund Activism Reengineer Corporate Culture?”


8. Shinhan Bank & KAFA Scholarship for Ph.D. Students

 Congratulations! The following PhD students who are presenting papers at the FMA conference are selected for the Shinhan Bank Scholarship:

Minmo Gahng (University of Florida)

Changhyun Ahn (University of Florida)

Hyunsoon Lim (University of Arizona)

Sangeun Ha (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Joonsung Won (Baruch College, CUNY)